Skip to main content
Free tiers and prices, side by side

What Is the Best Free Plant App With AI Identification?

Three leaves have gone brown at the edges and you do not know whether that is water, light, or something worth worrying about. You want an answer now. What you do not want, before you get one, is to make an account, hand over a card, and start a trial you will have to remember to cancel.

That is the moment Hari's free tier is built for. Photograph a plant to have it identified, or photograph the bad leaf and ask Plant Doctor what is wrong, with the reasoning behind the answer. They are two separate tools drawing on the same three AI photo scans a month. Ten Plant Doctor follow-up questions come with them, six plants get species-specific watering reminders, and none of it asks you to sign up. Nothing expires either, because there is no trial: Hari Pro is $4.99 a month or $29.99 a year, and you only meet it if you decide you want it.

Below: what each of six plant apps gives you for free, what each one costs, and where Hari is genuinely not the answer. Every competitor line comes from that vendor's own App Store listing, help center, or website.

Is there a free plant app with AI identification and diagnosis?

Free AI plant identification is not the rare part, so it is the floor of this category rather than the thing that separates one app from another. Greg's own listing invites you to scan any plant for free. Pl@ntNet recognises about 20,000 species and carries no in-app purchases at all. Both of those are on the table below, priced and described in their own vendors' words, because a free-tier page that hid them would not be worth reading.

The rare part is the second half. Greg's page lists Diagnose, and the mechanism its description names is community troubleshooting: turn to more veteran growers for answers. Pl@ntNet's listing describes species identification and a citizen-science project whose observations the community reviews, and it does not describe diagnosis or reminders. Planta's own help center lists Plant Identification and Dr. Planta together among the features you have to be a paid subscriber to use, in an article stamped July 2024, and a current article describes signing up with Apple, Google, or email as the first thing a new Planta user does. Blossom and PictureThis both have diagnosis, and neither publishes what its iPhone free tier contains, so those cells stay empty below instead of being filled in with a guess.

What Hari gives away is both halves out of one allowance. Photograph a plant to name it, or photograph a sick one for a likely diagnosis with the reasoning behind it: three AI photo scans a month either way, ten Plant Doctor follow-up questions, six plants tracked with species-specific watering reminders, and no sign-up. That is a combination, not a superlative. Two of the free tiers on this page are undisclosed by the people who make them, so nobody honest gets to say "only".

  • 6 plants, with no account to create.
  • 3 AI photo scans a month, and identification and Plant Doctor draw on the same three.
  • 10 Plant Doctor follow-up messages a month.
  • Species-specific watering reminders for 100+ houseplants.
  • Streaks, XP, and 40+ badges.
  • Pet-safety information in every plant profile.
  • Reminders that keep working with no signal.

That list is Hari's free tier, not a trial of it. Identification and Plant Doctor run on Hari's servers, so those photos leave the phone; your collection, schedules, and reminders stay on it and work with no signal.

What to judge a free plant app on

Five practical criteria for choosing a plant-care app, ordered the way somebody with a sick plant actually meets them. The table below judges every app against these and nothing else.

  1. Can you identify the plant without paying

    Photographing a plant to find out what it is has become the cheapest thing in this category. Several apps do it for nothing. That makes it the floor, not the differentiator.

  2. Can you find out what is wrong with it without paying

    This is the harder half. Naming a plant and diagnosing a sick one are the same photo and the same moment, but they are rarely the same price. Some listings do not describe diagnosis at all. Some put it behind a subscription.

  3. What it costs you to walk in the door

    An account, an email address, a card on file, a trial with a cancel date. Every one of those is a cost even when the price is zero.

  4. Whether anything makes you actually water the plant

    A notification you swipe away is not accountability. Streaks, progress, and a real person who can nudge you are.

  5. A price you can read in one line

    A stated monthly and annual number, and a straight answer on whether there is a trial. Printed here for every app, not just ours.

What each app gives you for free

A cell reads "not stated" when that vendor does not publish the answer. That is a gap in what they tell you, not a claim about what their app does, and we would rather leave it blank than fill it in.

AI plant identification on the free tier

HariYes. 3 AI photo scans a month, shared with diagnosis.
GregFree identification, in its own words: “Scan any plant (for free!)”.
PlantaPaid, per Planta’s own help center, in an article stamped July 2024 that lists Plant Identification as a paid-subscriber feature.
PictureThisNot stated for iPhone. Its FAQ answer about free scans is scoped to Android and earned by sharing the app.
BlossomNot stated. A Free Plan exists, and no Blossom source says what is in it.
Pl@ntNetFree identification across about 20,000 species, in its own words: “identify plants simply by photographing them”.

AI diagnosis of a sick plant on the free tier

HariYes. Plant Doctor runs off those same 3 scans, plus 10 follow-up messages a month.
GregGreg’s page lists Diagnose. Its description describes community troubleshooting from veteran growers.
PlantaPaid. Dr. Planta, its diagnosis feature, sits on that same July 2024 paid-subscriber list.
PictureThisHas diagnosis, listed as Plant Disease Auto Diagnose & Cure. Free-tier access is not stated.
BlossomNot stated. Unlimited disease identification is listed as a Premium feature.
Pl@ntNetIts listing describes photo identification of species. It does not describe a diagnosis feature.

Sign-up needed to start

HariNo account needed to start.
GregNot stated in the listing.
PlantaAccount required. Sign up with Apple, Google, or email, per a help-center article updated September 2026.
PictureThisNo user-created account required, per its own FAQ.
BlossomNot stated in the listing.
Pl@ntNetIts site puts creating an account under Participate and Contribute. It does not state that identifying needs one.

Plants you can track for free

Hari6 plants.
GregNot stated in the listing.
PlantaNot stated in any Planta source we could check.
PictureThisNot stated.
BlossomNot stated in any Blossom source we could check.
Pl@ntNetIts listing does not describe keeping a personal plant collection. It describes photographing plants and contributing observations the community reviews.

Species-specific watering reminders

HariSpecies-specific schedules for 100+ houseplants, free.
GregSchedules from species, pot, and home. Precision Watering sits under the paid tier.
PlantaIts July 2024 help-center article puts care schedules “other than watering” behind the subscription.
PictureThisCare instructions and watering schedules are listed.
BlossomCare reminders are listed. Unlimited reminders are Premium.
Pl@ntNetIts listing does not mention watering or reminders. It describes identification and a citizen-science project whose photos scientists analyse.

What makes you actually do it

HariStreaks, XP, and 40+ badges, free. Friend nudges on Pro.
GregA public community feed, where its listing says veteran growers answer questions. Its listing does not describe streaks or badges.
PlantaA plant journal, and an invite so family or friends can help while you are away.
PictureThisNot stated in the listing.
BlossomPlant collections and a wishlist are listed.
Pl@ntNetIts listing describes contributing observations, review by the community, and a species photo gallery your observation may join.

Pet-safety information

HariYes, across the 100+ plant library.
GregNot stated in the listing.
PlantaNot stated in the listing.
PictureThisToxic Plant Warning listed.
BlossomPet safety is listed as a search filter.
Pl@ntNetNot stated.

Free trial

HariNo free trial.
Greg7 day trial, stated in the listing.
PlantaIts July 2024 help-center article answers the free-trial question by describing free limited access instead.
PictureThisThe listing mentions a free trial “if offered”, without a length.
Blossom3 days, per Blossom’s own checkout.
Pl@ntNetNo trial is stated. Its App Store page lists a price of Free and no in-app purchases.

Platform

HariiPhone, iOS 18 or later.
GregiPhone, iOS 16 or later. Also on Apple Vision.
PlantaiPhone, iOS 18 or later. Also on Apple Vision and Google Play.
PictureThisiPhone and iPad, iOS 15 or later.
BlossomiPhone, iOS 15.4 or later.
Pl@ntNetiPhone, iPad, and Mac, iOS 15.1 or later.

We make Hari at Covelo Tech, so we are biased. Hari's cells are first-party facts about our own build. Every other cell was read from that vendor's own App Store listing, help center, or website, with no accuracy, quality, or popularity claims and no rating counts. Where a vendor publishes nothing on a point, the cell says so rather than filling the gap in with a No. One caveat we will name: the Planta help-center article that lists identification and Dr. Planta as paid features is stamped July 2024, so it is Planta's own statement but not a recent one, while the article describing its sign-up options was updated September 2026. Features change, so check before you subscribe.

What these apps cost

Hari's price is $4.99 a month, or $29.99 a year, which is about $2.50 a month. There is no free trial, which cuts both ways: nothing to cancel, and nothing free that expires. Here is what everyone else on this page charges, so you can see the number rather than the word "premium".

US App Store listings, checked September 3, 2026. Prices change, verify before you subscribe.

Apple lists the ten most popular in-app purchases for an app, so a rival’s figures below are a range across those ten and not necessarily its whole price list. Hari has only two, which is why Hari shows one price instead of a range.

What each plant app costs on the US App Store, and whether it offers a free trial, checked September 3, 2026.
AppPrice in the USFree trial
Hari(our app)$4.99 a month, or $29.99 a yearThe year works out to about $2.50 a month.No free trial.
Greg$29.99 a yearGreg states this figure in its own listing.7 day trial, stated in the listing.
Planta$7.99 and $9.99 for one month, $17.99 to $47.99 for twelve monthsPremium plans among the ten Apple lists.Its July 2024 help-center article answers the free-trial question by describing free limited access instead.
PictureThisPro from $3.99 to $39.99, Family Plan $49.99The listing does not say which billing period each price covers.The listing mentions a free trial “if offered”, without a length.
Blossom$5.99 for one month, $59.99 to $79.99 for one yearPlus weekly plans at $4.99 and $7.99, both named as carrying a free trial.3 days, per Blossom’s own checkout.
Pl@ntNetFreeNo in-app purchases appear on its App Store page at all.No trial is stated. Its App Store page lists a price of Free and no in-app purchases.

Two things worth saying plainly. Greg's own listing states $29.99 a year, the same yearly figure as Hari, so "the cheap one" is not an argument either of us gets to make. And Hari having no trial is not the same as rivals having no free way in: Greg states a 7 day trial, Blossom's checkout offers 3 days, and PictureThis refers to a trial without naming a length. What Hari offers instead is a free tier that does not run out.

What Makes Hari Different

Three structural differences, not three adjectives.

Accountability, not a feed

Friends who can nudge you

Add friends by @username, see each other's streaks, and send a push notification when a plant is overdue. Private nudges between people who know each other, not posts to a feed. Hari Pro.

Identification and Doctor

Two tools, one allowance

Identification and Plant Doctor diagnosis are separate tools that draw on the same 3 free scans a month. Name a plant you brought home, or ask what is wrong with one that has gone off and get reasoning and a confidence score, without having to decide in advance which one you needed. Pro unlocks the full treatment plan.

Free, not a demo

A free tier you can live on

6 plants, no sign-up, reminders that work with no signal, XP, 40+ badges, and streaks that multiply it. Free is the product here, not a countdown: there is no trial, so there is nothing to cancel and nothing that expires.

Where Hari does not fit

Three cases where Hari is not an option at all, whatever the table says:

  • You are on Android. Hari is iPhone only and there is no Android build.
  • You want it on iPad. Hari is an iPhone app.
  • You are on iOS 17 or earlier. Hari needs iOS 18 or later.

Try Hari free: 6 plants, no sign-up needed.

Free on iPhone, with AI identification and Plant Doctor diagnosis included. Pro is $4.99 a month or $29.99 a year, about $2.50 a month on the yearly plan, and there is no trial to cancel.

Common questions

The questions people actually type, answered in the first sentence.

Hari app icon

Ready to Keep Your Plants Alive?

Hari is free on iPhone. 6 plants, no sign-up, species-specific reminders, and 3 AI photo scans a month shared between identification and a Plant Doctor diagnosis. Pro adds unlimited plants, higher AI limits, full treatment plans, cloud sync, and friend nudges for $4.99 a month or $29.99 a year.

iOS 18+ · Free to start · Made by Covelo Tech